30.06.2022Committee for Melbourne congratulates the Andrew Government on the appointment of its new Ministry

Committee for Melbourne and its board would like to congratulate the Andrews Government on the appointment of its new ministry. We would also like to congratulate the outgoing senior Ministers Martin Pakula, Martin Foley, Richard Wynne, James Merlino and Lisa Neville for their contribution in helping to shape Melbourne’s future and their engagement with the Committee.

Committee for Melbourne and its members were fortunate to hear from Tim Pallas (Treasurer and Minister for Economic Development, and Minister for Trade) at a forum hosted at Ernst & Young, in which the Treasurer briefed members on the latest State Budget and the economic outlook. Of importance in his reflections, the growing skills shortage, level of debt and the housing affordability crisis were prominent topics of discussion.

Martin Foley also presented recently at our Meet the Minister event at Herbert Smith Free-hills. We thank Mr Foley for his insight and vision for Victoria’s healthcare system, including how the government intends to modernise public hospitals, support innovation and technology deployment to improve health outcomes and develop a pipeline of skilled health professionals.

The Committee recognises the following appointments relevant to the Committee’s work:

  • Jacinta Allan will become Deputy Premier.
  • Lizzie Blandthorn will become the Minister for Planning.
  • Steve Dimopoulos becomes Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events and Minister for Creative Industries.
  • Sonya Kilkenny will be Minister for Corrections, Minister for Youth Justice, Minister for Victim Support and Minister for Fishing and Boating.
  • Harriet Shing becomes Minister for Water, Minister for Regional Development and Minister for Equality.
  • Colin Brooks will be Minister for Child Protection and Family Services and Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers.
  • Danny Pearson becomes Minister for Housing in addition to his existing responsibilities as Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Regulatory Reform
  • Ben Carroll will be Minister for Industry Support and Recovery and Minister for Business Precincts, in addition to his existing responsibilities as Minister for Public Transport and Minister for Roads and Road Safety
  • Melissa Horne adds Suburban Development and Local Government to existing responsibilities in Consumer Affairs and Ports and Freight

Some of the members who remain in their portfolios include Lily D’ambrosio who remains Minister for of Energy, Environment and Climate Change, and Solar Homes; Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, Gayle Tierney who will add Agriculture to her existing responsibilities for Training and Skills and Higher Education and Jaala Pulford who remains Ministerfor Minister for Employment; Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy; and Small Business.

Committee for Melbourne looks forward to continuing to work with all the members of the Andrews Government.

Mark Melvin, Committee for Melbourne CEO looks forward to meeting with the incoming Ministers to discuss important issues impacting Melbourne and Victoria.

Sign up for Committee for Melbourne’s Communiqué

  • *Mandatory fields