24.05.2023Annual Dinner 2023: You’re the Inspiration

The Committee for Melbourne recently celebrated an inspirational Melbourne made up of inspirational people at our 2023 Annual Dinner. Held at the amazing Goldfields Event Space at Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre we were joined by more than 500 people to celebrate the contributions that proud Melburnians make to Melbourne.

Opening with a unique performance commissioned by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra from Deborah Cheetham, a Yorta Yorta soprano and composer, to acknowledge the traditional owners of the land in the form of music, Michael Rowland hosted the proceedings of the evening.

Guests heard from inspirational speakers. The Committee’s Patron, Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC CVO, Governor of Victoria Office of the Governor – Victoria, opened with a keynote speech that reflected on her remarkable tenure and commitment to Melbourne and Victoria. The Committee’s Chair, Scott Tanner outlined the contributions that the Committee has made to Melbourne’s success over the past 30 years. Deputy Premier, Jacinta Allan MP highlighted the extraordinary level of government commitment to infrastructure and social and community spend, and the achievements of the Victorian Government.

Natalie O’Brien AM, CEO, MCEC welcomed the guests to the incredible venue and highlighted the contribution that events makes to Melbourne. Carla Purcell, CEO, Yarra Trams provided an overview of the contribution that the tram network makes to the city.

The Committee’s members make an extraordinary contribution to Melbourne, and the night celebrated four specific contributions from Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation, Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia (Victoria), National Institute of Circus Arts (NICA) and St Vincent’s Health Australia. Displays in the foyer on arrival emphasised the impact of those organisations. Individuals from each of the organisations provided moving and heartfelt speeches about the contributions towards artistic creativity, health, community and wellbeing.

Each year, Committee for Melbourne recognises the outstanding achievements of both individuals and organisations through the Melbourne Achiever Award. The prestigious Awards were announced honouring Scott Chapman and Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation.

There were many important life members in attendance, including founder of the Committee, Pamela Warrender.

View the highlight video here.

We could not achieve this incredible event without the contributions from our partners. We warmly thank our Presenting Partner Keolis Downer for their leadership this evening and support of the whole night, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre for the amazing hospitality and food, and Lendlease for sponsoring our order of proceedings.

We thank R-Co Design for the ‘You’re the Inspiration’ theme and brand and Peter Jones Special Events who helped to create the amazing evening.

We were also privileged to welcome performances from MSO, NICA and Mike Snell.

Event partner logos for Committee for Melbourne's 2023 Annual dinner including Keolis Downer, MCEC, Lendlease, Peter Jones, R-Co Brand

Sign up for Committee for Melbourne’s Communiqué

  • *Mandatory fields